Day 4 of Ramadan

Day 4 of Ramadan is here….I have the sweetest daughter ever. She really loves to cook. She has been getting up for the last 4 days and cooking for everyone.  Which is awesome for me, since I have been sick. It’s one less thing I have to think about in the morning. Hopefully tomorrow I will share a few recipe’s we have been using for our fast.

I have really enjoyed our early morning family get togethers. This time gives us the opportunity to share our thoughts on fasting, life, things we have read in the Quran. The family time is priceless and so memorable.  As we spoke about our fasts today I realized that maybe I need to do some teaching at home about Ramadan to my children. We all need a refresher course once in a while and today right before breaking our fast we will discuss some facts about Ramadan. As I was thinking of what to discuss  made a short list of facts I wanted to share with you as well.

10 things about Ramadan

  1. Ramadan is the 9th month of the Islamic calendar
  2. Ramadan is named after the word Ramda. Ramda are stones heated by the sun during summer.
  3. Ramadan is generally the hottest month out of all the Islamic months
  4. Ramadan starts at the sight of the new moon and ends at the sighting of the new moon.
  5. Ramadan can generally run from 28-30 days depending on when the new moon is sighted
  6. In Many parts of the world some people are fasting 20+ hours per day.
  7. Fasting is an ancient practice round in most ancient religions
  8. During Ramadan we increase our good deeds. Mostly by feeding people
  9. The Quran was revealed during Ramadan
  10. Ramadan is divided into 3rd : 10 days of Mercy, 10 days of forgiveness, 10 days of asking for protection from the hellfire.

So those are my 10 facts about Ramadan. If  you have any questions please leave them in the comments! And check back tomorrow for recipes and more early morning stories.

Thank you for sharing this day with me

Leave a Reply

