Ramadan Day 20- Iftar Spanish Style ¡Bon Provecho!

أَمَّنْ هَٰذَا الَّذِي هُوَ جُندٌ لَّكُمْ يَنصُرُكُم مِّن دُونِ الرَّحْمَٰنِ إِنِ الْكَافِرُونَ إِلَّا فِي غُرُورٍ

20.Or who is it that will be a host for you to assist you besides the Beneficent Allah? The unbelievers are only in deception.

20. ¿En quién tendréis un soporte que os auxilie, sino en el Misericordioso? Los incrédulos no están seducidos sino por un engaño.

After a long day of fasting it was nice to break fast with family and home made #arepas #tacos y #guacamole. And even though we are #boriquen we definitely love eating food from other Latin cultures.

 We had a good chuckle when I told her I am constantly telling people, No I am not Mexican, Yes I am Boriqua, No tacos are not part of my culture. BUT I am from California EVERYONE eats tacos. Lol

My grandmother started off the taco craze! Then it was passed on to my mother. Or maybe vice versa. All I know is that Growing  up we ate tacos, arroz con gandules y Maduros. That was dinner for us. It was a staple! 

My sister in law made the arepas and I finished making the tacos. So basically  arepa is a flat bread made from cornmeal. Water, salt , butter is added and then mushed together into a dough. My sister in law formed them into circles and grilled them until brown and then fried them. Usually people fry them. Then you cut them open and stuff them with whatever toppings you have. We had chicken, cheese, tomatoes, lettuce. They were so good! Alhamdulillah. 

As we continued to cook and eat. I kept having the same thought. This is what Islam is about. Appreciating other people’s culture and food. And not losing who you are as a person. In Islam I can be Muslim and retain my culture and food. This is who I am and I am proud of it!

Now that I am talking of food I cannot help to think about my friends chicken and Molé. Que Rico! 

Thank you for allowing me to share another day of fasting with you. I hope you enjoyed! 

Tu Hermana en Islam

Alma_Atl 

Leave a Reply

